ساخت ربات

IMAG0539.jpg
This is my fourth Beetleweight (3-pound) combat robot and, hopefully, the first with a usable weapon.  Let’s just say those earlier attempts at weaponized ‘bots were “learning experiences”…the kind where you go home and hope you can salvage it for parts.  On the other hand, my bot #3 has held up well in combat over the last year, but it’s a wedge, so this is my attempt to level up and throw some non-boring into the mix.

“Unskinny Bot” is my take on the tried-and-true horizontal bar spinner, just a rectangular chunk of metal that spins really fast and (hopefully) does a lot of damage to the other bot.

It will debut at Robot Battles 47 Microbattles at Dragon*Con in September 2013.

     
Remove these adsRemove these ads by Signing Up

Step 1: Design

bp-overview.png
I spent a lot of time modeling it in Sketchup before even ordering parts.  Attached is the CAD file (in Sketchup) for the ‘bot.  Some notes about the design:

  • dead shaft for the weapon: This means the weapon shaft doesn’t rotate; instead, the weapon blade and weapon pulley (which are bolted together) spin around the fixed shaft.  There were a couple of reasons I chose this arrangement.  First, that having the dead shaft clamped to the armor at the top and bottom might make it easier to change a weapon belt during competition.  And second, it would have required some machining beyond my abilities and equipment to build a keyed weapon shaft with high-speed bearings at the ends.
  • it had to fit within the milling limits: which are about 11″x5″  for the machine to which I have access
  • battery cover for quick battery access: very important during competition!
  • power switch: the rules require this if a bot has a powered weapon.  I always forget this until it’s almost too late…

My original design called for belt-driven wheels (as shown in the CAD file) which are better at taking combat abuse.  I found out late in the build that those didn’t allow enough internal space for the electronic guts, so I had to rebuild using direct-driven wheels.  The upside is I had enough weight left over to put armor around the wheels.

bp.skp1 MB

Leave a comment